• Build Club
  • Posts
  • Edition 1: Humans of The Builders Club

Edition 1: Humans of The Builders Club

An inside peak inside the arena, spotlighting top ANZ AI Builders, tinkerers and founders

Humans of The Builders Club

[Edition #1] Written with 💘 by Kelvin Htat, Rebecca Williams and Annie Liao

We are excited to share the first ever “Humans of Builders Club”. A series spotlighting what ANZ’s top AI builders are working on, life in the arena and what they are excited about looking forward.

Let’s jump right in 👇

Introducing Kelvin Htat, founder of Licode whose mission is to democratise software development

Tell us a bit about yourself and what inspires you

I was born and raised in Myanmar by Chinese parents.

I took the leap and moved to Australia eight years ago for University after high school. I started my career in software engineering, working across various companies and upskilling where I could, before starting Licode early this year.

For me, seeing many other leaders and entrepreneurs make a huge impact on society really inspires me to be one of them who brings value to humanity.

What are you currently building?

Licode is a no-code platform for building web apps and AI apps visually in the software development ecosystemđŸ‘©â€đŸ’». Our goal is to provide a collaborative solution between non-coders and coders to be able to build a product together.

What does a typical day look life for you?

My day doesn’t start until 10am unless someone wants to see me really badly in the early morning!

I start the day off by quickly checking Google analytics for LiCode, social media, and emails.

I usually spend my morning and early afternoon brainstorming, taking calls, and paying all bills that I owe. I go into deep focus on coding after lunch usually until 3am before I go home to sleep đŸ’€. Well, I lied, I procrastinate a lot in between as well!

What are you most excited about currently?

I am most excited about the future of software development.

I have been writing code for a little more than a decade. Now we see many aspiring entrepreneurs who don’t know how to write code are building software solutions by just using AI and any tool without writing a single line of code 🚀.

As part of my startup’s mission, I am extremely pumped to see how no-code and AI solutions could change the way we build software products!

Can you recommend any books, podcasts, links that have helped you on your builder journey?

For programming and tech, I follow the Fireship YouTube channel. They explain things in a very simple way.

I started my programming journey by learning from CourseCode YouTube channel and Codeacademy.com. There are many other resources that helped me as well such as TutorialPoints, GeeksForGeeks and FreeCodeCamp.

I believe in this new generation and next generation, ChatGPT may be the only resource that everyone needs.

For my startup journey, I like to watch other founders’ stories where I could learn from them and be inspired by their achievements. I would definitely recommend watching “The Social Network: about Facebook”, “Super Pumped: about Uber”, “Playlist: about Spotify”, and “WeCrashed: about WeWork”. There are so many lessons to learn from those movies. I rarely read books to be honest, but there is only one book that I read which I finished from beginning to the end, that is Go-Live by Fred Schebesta. That book changed the way I think of startups 😊.

Highly recommended!

Final tip?

Embrace the technology and keep building đŸ’Ș.

You can stay up to date with Kelvin’s builder journey by following his LinkedIn here

Liked this post?

Come build with us, we are an open-source community of 300+ of ANZ’s top AI builders. Sign up here and get involved in upcoming events here

Or subscribe to the Builders Club here and follow us on Linkedin here.